RSS

My dad’s Yashica TL Electro X camera

08 Jan
English: A Yashica TL Electro-X, with the lens...

English: A Yashica TL Electro-X, with the lens (a Yashica 50mm f/1.7 DS-M) unmounted to show the stop-down pin. Pushing that pin in stops the lens down to the chosen F-stop. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The Yashica TL-Electro, built between 1972 and...

The Yashica TL-Electro, built between 1972 and 1975, took M42 screw-mount lenses. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So I’ve inherited my dad’s Yashica TL Electro X camera and I absolutely love it. It is the camera I took pictures of football, basketball, and soccer games with, as well as other pictures for my high school newspaper way back in the early 80’s. My mom bought it for my dad around 1976-7, so it’s an antique now, lol! But they say that some of the best cameras are the older ones. Only problem is I need a lens for it, as well as a new leather camera case/strap thing. I’ve researched some Yashica stuff and the only place I’ve really found much is on Ebay. I’m hoping someone reading this might have some suggestions. Later on this morning I’m going to take pictures so I can use up the rest of the film in it so I can have it developed. I would really like to have a better lens for when I start classes in February or March.

Now I’m off to drink some more coffee, check my email, and hopefully take some fun pictures with my dad’s Yashica and my CanonPowerShot SX150 IS. Not sure yet of whether I’m a bigger fan of Canon or Nikon, my aunt has a Nikon that I absolutely love. I’m doing a lot more research before I buy my main camera.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2013 in Photography

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “My dad’s Yashica TL Electro X camera

  1. Yoshi

    January 8, 2013 at 1:20 pm

    Ha ha . .
    My Dad gave me an exact same camera in mid 80’s

     

Leave a Reply

 
